Skip to content

Our History


  • Bob Morris is hired as Village Manager (VM) in Glencoe. First VM in Illinois not trained as an engineer


  • Illinois formally adopts statute allowing for council-manager (CM) government; prior to that time 10 communities adopted the plan by ordinance


  • Mark Keane, VM Oak Park hosts a meeting of managers. ILCMA is formed with William Wolf, VM Wilmette, elected president
  • Another 17 communities adopt CM form, most by referendum. Dr. Gilbert Steiner, from UIUC, provided the impetus for that first meeting


  • First statewide conferences are held at Allerton House in Monticello; Meetings are organized under the guidance of Gil Steiner and others from UIUC


  • ILCMA hosts ICMA’s 50th Anniversary Conference in Chicago, Bob Morris, chair
  • Robert Morris is elected ICMA Regional Vice-President
    • Since then nine additional Illinois managers/assistants have served in that position: Stan Kennedy, John Fischbach, John Eckenroad, Valerie Salmons, Juliana Maller, David Limardi, Bob Kiely, Mike Baker, and Wally Bobkiewicz


  • IAMMA is founded


  • ILCMA Secretariat is established at Northern Illinois University under direction of Jim Banovetz


  • ILCMA becomes first state association to employ a full-time, professional staff unaffiliated with a state municipal league
    • Tom Flannery appointed ILCMA first full-time executive director


  • Stan Kennedy, VM Wilmette, is elected ICMA president
  • IAMMA, Metro Managers, and Downstate officially become affiliates of ILCMA


  • Carol Zar is appointed executive director
  • Jeff Fuller, of Park Ridge, is first assistant manager to be elected president of ILCMA
  • ILCMA awarded first (and only) ICMA State Association Award for Creative Initiatives; J. Neil Nielsen, president
  • Summer conference is held at Eagle Ridge for the first time
  • ML Managers Committee formed; Paul Nicholson, president
  • First winter conference held in Champaign; Larry Asaro, president


  • Valerie Salmons is elected as first female president of ILCMA.  Since then five women have served.  They are Katy Rush (1995-96), Robin Weaver (2003-04), Ghida Neukirch (2007-08), Juliana Maller (2011-12), and Kelly Amidei (2015-16).


  • Illinois joins the ICMA Range Rider program with Bob Morris and Les Allen as the first two range riders


  • Illinois Municipal League officially establishes municipal managers committee


  • ILCMA hosts ICMA conference in Chicago; Larry Arft, chair
  • ILCMA inaugurates its awards program; Tim Schuenke, president


  • ILCMA changes its name to Illinois City / County Management Association


  • ILCMA website inaugurated


  • IACA becomes an affiliate of ILCMA
  • First James M. Banovetz scholarship is awarded


  • Carol Zar resigns after 20 years as executive director
  • Dawn S. Peters is appointed executive director
  • ILCMA establishes new Friends of ILCMA Corporate Partnership Program


  • SWICMA becomes an affiliate of ILCMA


  • David Limardi becomes President-elect for ICMA


  • Patrick Urich becomes the first county administrator to be President of ILCMA


  • Women’s Legacy Project becomes an affiliate of ILCMA


  • First Asian-American appointed as city manager.  Rudy Espiritu was appointed City Manager for the city of Berkeley in August 2016.


  • ILCMA holds first ever virtual winter conference and moves all professional development events to virtual due to COVID-19.


Install ILCMA

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”