Skip to content

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

In March of 2019, the ILCMA Board established an ad hoc task force on Diversity Equity and Inclusion with the goal of identifying and reducing barriers to the participation of minorities, women and other underrepresented groups in the profession of local government management and the ILCMA.  ILCMA’s Diversity and Inclusion standing committee was formally created in early 2021.

The Committee’s goals include:

  • Educate association members on DEI through implicit/explicit/microaggression training using several different platforms.
  • Impress the need of the association to build relationships with affinity groups established in the work of DEI.
  • Develop tools, programs and techniques for member organizations to use to help them reach their DEI goals, including but not limited to a recruitment tool kit of best practices for hiring for diversity, and DEI training as a part of organizational objectives and strategic planning initiatives.

Committee Co-Chair – Kimberly Richardson, Deputy City Manager, Evanston

Committee Co-Chair – Napoleon Haney, Assistant Village Manager, Homewood

Committee Members:

Sam Barghi, Management Analyst, Lincolnshire

Heather Kuykendall, Comptroller, Charleston

Sharon Schallhorn, Administrator, Bureau County

Allison Matson, Village Administrator, Wauconda

Nancy Hill, Community Development Director, South Elgin

Rebecca Ahlvin, City Manager, Mascoutah

Elijah Bebora, Management Analyst, River Forest

Ghida Neukirch, City Manager, Highland Park

Daisy Chavez, Assistant to the Village Manager, Western Springs

Joan Walls, Deputy City Manager, Champaign

Ex Officio

Casey Biernacki, Deputy Village Manager, Western Springs

Sharon Tanner, Assistant Village Manager, Glencoe

Roy Witherow, Assistant Village Manager, Lake Zurich

Erin Baynes, Management Analyst, Libertyville

Cristina White, Assistant City Administrator, Warrenville

Jennifer Swahlstedt, IRMA

Tasheik Kerr, Management Analyst, Evanston

Jason Miller, Assistant to the Village Manager, Park Forest



Install ILCMA

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”